Press release

H&M’s nomination committee proposes Christina Synnergren as new board member


The nomination committee of H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB has now completed its work ahead of the annual general meeting on 4 May 2023. The nomination committee proposes that Christina Synnergren is elected as a new member of the board of directors and that the following current board members are re-elected: Stina Bergfors, Anders Dahlvig, Danica Kragic Jensfelt, Lena Patriksson Keller, Karl-Johan Persson, Christian Sievert and Niklas Zennström.

It is proposed that Karl-Johan Persson is re-elected as chair of the board. Erica Wiking Häger has asked to step down from the board since the law firm Mannheimer Swartling, where Erica is a partner, has adopted stricter policies regarding external board assignments. “I am very pleased that Christina Synnergren has agreed to be proposed as a new board member for the H&M group. Christina has many years of solid experience in the retail sector, the past ten of which primarily within the fashion industry. In her role at BCG she has dealt with complex matters in areas such as AI and digitalisation, retail stores, e-commerce, product assortment, production, new growth and transformation. She has worked with several leading actors in the industry and has also been a much appreciated advisor to the H&M group for a number of years. Christina’s knowledge will be a valuable asset to the board in its future work.

“I would like to express my great thanks to Erica Wiking Häger for her dedicated, committed and valuable work as a member of the board and audit committee,” says Stefan Persson, who chairs the H&M group’s nomination committee.

Christina Synnergren, born 1978, holds an MSc in Economics and Business from Stockholm School of Economics. Christina has 20 years of experience from management consulting firm BCG (Boston Consulting Group), most recently as Managing Director and Senior Partner. She has also held several other leadership positions within BCG, including roles in the global Fashion & Luxury and Retail leadership teams, as well as being a member of BCG’s Executive Committee – the decision-making body responsible for managing the entire firm globally. Christina has now chosen to leave BCG and her employment there will end during the spring, i.e. before the AGM 2023. Her own shareholding in H&M amounts to 0 shares and related parties’ holdings in H&M to 0 shares.

The members of the nomination committee are chair of the board Karl-Johan Persson, Stefan Persson from Ramsbury Invest, Lottie Tham, Joachim Spetz from Swedbank Robur fonder and Karin Eliasson from Handelsbanken Fonder. The members of the nomination committee represent shareholders who together account for just over 81 percent of the total votes in the company. The nomination committee’s full proposals will be presented in the notice of H&M’s annual general meeting in Post- och Inrikes Tidningar.

The Nomination Committee of H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB

Joachim Spetz, Swedbank Robur fonder +46 70-694 29 79  
Karin Eliasson, SHB Fonder +46 70-334 03 32  
H&M Group Media Relations +46 8 796 53 00

For more information from the H&M group and press images visit

H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB (publ) was founded in Sweden in 1947 and is quoted on Nasdaq Stockholm. H&M’s business idea is to offer fashion and quality at the best price in a sustainable way. In addition to H&M, the group includes the brands COS, Monki, Weekday, & Other Stories, H&M HOME, ARKET and Afound as well as Sellpy. For further information, visit